ITS Scientific Meeting 2017

Welcome from the Local Organisers

It is our great pleasure to welcome you to Limerick, host to the 2017 Irish Thoracic Society Annual Scientific Meeting. In honour of the meeting’s return Shannonside we have developed a programme to reflect the excellent work in respiratory medicine and healthcare taking place throughout the island. It will also deliver ‘state of the art’ education on a range of topics.

Oral and poster presentations throughout the meeting will provide a unique opportunity to review and discuss the high standards of quality and innovation taking place in clinical and research centres throughout Ireland. We wish to thank all those presenting their work over the course of the meeting as well as the abstract review committee and judges for their expertise and diligence in what is always a challenging task given the high standard of work submitted.

Special features of this year’s meeting include: a lecture on Understanding of Diaphragm Performance by Professor F. Dennis McCool, Memorial Hospital of Rhode Island and Alpert Medical School of Brown University; a lecture on the UK National Optimal Lung Cancer Pathway by Professor David Baldwin, Nottingham University Hospitals and University of Nottingham; a lecture on occupational Lung Disease by Professor Paul Cullinan, Imperial College (NHLI) and Royal Brompton Hospital and a lecture on Laboratory Diagnosis of Respiratory Infections by Dr Tanya Curran, Royal Victoria Hospital and Queens University Belfast. The Irish Thoracic Society Case Study Forum, which takes place on Thursday evening, 9th November, has become a key event in the meeting’s programme and this year sees a record number of cases being presented, with over 60 submissions in total.

Welcome also to the many patient and professional organisations in attendance. Networking and sharing information on the wealth of activities taking place across the respiratory healthcare community continues to be an integral part of the meeting.

Finally, we would like to extend a particular welcome to the exhibitors and sponsors of this year’s meeting. We are very grateful for their continued presence and support.

Dr Aidan O’Brien               Dr Eithne Mulloy              Dr Brian Casserly
Local Organisers, ITS Annual Scientific Meeting 2017

ITS ASM 2017 Prizes & Awards

ITS ASM 2017 Highlights – Guest Lectures

ITS ASM 2017 Highlights – Case Study Forum

ITS ASM Meeting Sponsors & Exhibitors