Irish Thoracic Society Online Journal Club

Dear ITS Members,

We are delighted to announce the latest winners of the Irish Thoracic Society Online Journal Club, in joint first place, they are:

Dr Joseph Morris with his review of the article – Reduced Lung-Cancer Mortality with Volume CT Screening in a Randomized Trial: “Seeing through the smoke”


Dr Michael Doyle with his review of the study – Safety and efficacy of inhaled nebulised interferon beta-1a (SNG001) for treatment of SARS-CoV-2 infection: a randomised, double-blind, placebo controlled, phase 2 trial.


Previous winners of the Online Journal Club

Dr Niamh Boyle with her review of “Dexamethasone in Hospitalized Patients with Covid-19 — Preliminary Report The Recovery Collaborative Group

and the runner up is:

Dr Donal O’Malley with his review of the study “Elexacaftor–Tezacaftor–Ivacaftor for Cystic Fibrosis with a Single Phe508del Allele“.


Submissions are now welcome from ITS members for the next round.

This is a wonderful opportunity to review practice-changing respiratory articles.
We encourage submissions from a diverse range of respiratory subspecialties, as this will facilitate ongoing education and training during the pandemic.

The top three submissions will be chosen by a dedicated ITS panel and posted on the ITS website as an educational resource. The highest scoring submission in each semester will be awarded a prize of €100.

Submission deadlines:
January 2021- April 2021: 30th April

Submission format:
1. Pick an interesting article related to any respiratory subspecialty of your choice to review.
2. The word count for this review is 500 words. Marks will be deducted for exceeding the recommended word count.
3. Marks will be allocated for the article summary (10), critical appraisal (20) and a reflective paragraph, considering the implications on current practice, guidelines and future studies (20).

Please email your submissions or any queries regarding this online Journal club to:

We look forward to reading your entries and thank you in advance for your contribution,

S. Cullivan
ITS Educational Officer