ITS Member Awarded Cournand Lecture

Dr. Silke Ryan of St. Vincent’s and UCD has been awarded the prestigious Cournand Lecture by the European Respiratory Society for her work over the last decade in relation to the regulation of inflammatory pathways in obstructive sleep apnoea, and their involvement in the pathogenesis of cardiometabolic co-morbidities. The Cournand Lecture is awarded every 3 […]

ITS – A. Menarini ATS Travel Bursary 2015

The Irish Thoracic Society is pleased to invite applications for a Travel Bursary to the American Thoracic Society (ATS) Meeting taking place in Denver Colorado on the 15th – 20th May 2015. This bursary is to the value of €5,000.00 and is kindly supported by A. Menarini Pharmaceuticals. This award is open to SpRs on […]

Irish Thoracic Society Award for Outstanding Contribution to Respiratory Medicine

Professor Pat Finnegan pictured receiving the ITS Award for Outstanding Contribution to Respiratory Medicine with Prof JJ Gilmartin, Galway University Hospitals and Prof Anthony O’Regan, Presdent the Irish Thoracic Society Professor Pat Finnegan, Professor Emeritus, and previous Dean of Medicine at the National University of Ireland Galway (NUIG); and retired respiratory consultant at University College Hospital Galway […]

The ITS Welcomes Cabinet Approval of Standardised Packaging of Tobacco Legislation

The Irish Thoracic Society welcomes the government’s decision to approve the Standardised Packaging of Tobacco Legislation – paving the way for Ireland to become the first country in the EU to introduce this important public health measure. Tobacco is the leading cause of preventable death in Ireland, killing one in two of all users. 5,200 […]